Traffic Violations

traffic-ticket

Oh no... you got a ticket. Now what do you do? Here are some things you need to know:

1. You need to pay your ticket fine. 

How do you know how much your fine is? The officer gave you two pieces of paper.... one that says APPEARANCE ...and a white one that is your actual citation. Look at the APPEARANCE paper. On the upper right corner, it will tell you the cost of your violation.

How and where can you pay your fine? PLEASE NOTE!!!! On the  APPEARANCE paper, notice that LEVAN PRECINCT COURT is circled. This means you must pay your fine to the Levan court. DO NOT call or send your payment to Nephi. If you do, Nephi will simply void your payment without notifying you, and you may think your ticket has been paid when in reality, it hasn't. 

The address for the Levan Court can be found on the left hand side of your actual citation (the white paper). The address is:

Levan Justice Court
20 North Main PO Box 40
Levan, Utah 84639

TO PAY YOUR FINE, you have two choices..

A.  MAIL your fine with a CHECK or MONEY ORDER to the above address. BE SURE TO INCLUDE YOUR CITATION NUMBER ON YOUR CHECK. DO NOT send cash in the mail.

B. You may pay your fine at the Levan Town office with cash, check or money order starting 5 days after the issuance of your citation. It takes at least 5 days for the information from your citation to be entered into the State's computer system. If you come to the office to pay your fine, and the information is not in the computer system yet, we won't be able to accept your payment. You may wish to call the office to confirm that your information is in the computer before you come to the office. NOTE: If you wish to pay with cash, it must be the exact amount. We can't give change. The Levan Town office is open for traffic fine payments Monday-Thursday, 8:30-12:00 only. Sorry....we DO NOT accept credit cards, and you can't pay your fine online. 

2. You have 14 days from the date of issuance to pay your fine. 

After 14 days have elapsed, a $50.00 late fee will be added to the cost of your violation. NOTE: We look at the post mark on the envelope to see when you mailed your payment. IF your payment is postmarked within 14 days of the date of issuance, you're OK. IF your payment is postmarked AFTER 14 days from the date of issuance, you WILL BE charged a late fee.

3. After 45 days of the date of issuance, if you have not paid your fine, you will be issued a "Notice to Appear". This means you must show up in court and explain why you haven't  paid your fine. All of the information, including your court date will be on the Notice To Appear.

4. If you receive a Notice To Appear, and you do not show up in court, a warrant will be issued for your arrest, and minimum of  $190.00 will be added to your original fine and your late fee. 

5. If you wish to contest your ticket, within 14 days of the date of issuance, you need to send your citation (the white paper) with your signature and "I WISH TO CONTEST THIS CITATION" written on it. You may mail or fax your citation to :

Levan Justice Court
20 North Main PO Box 40
Levan, Utah 84639
FAX: 1-623-2730 (attention Jessica)

 If you have any questions or need assistance, please call our Court Clerk, Jessica Shepherd, Mon -Thurs 8:00-12:00 at 1-623-0125. You may also call after hours and leave a message or you may email our Court Clerk at    jshepherd.levantown@gmail.com

What is Traffic School and why might you want to attend?

The officer may have mentioned Traffic School to you. What is Traffic School and why might you want to attend? Traffic School is training that can either be taken online or at a location. The cost of Traffic School is currently $65.00 (on top of your ticket fine amount). If you attend Traffic School, it will take some points off of your driving record if you don't have any more violations within a certain period of time. NOT ALL violations qualify to be able to take Traffic School. The following disqualifies you from Traffic School:

  • You do not have a valid driver's license.
  • Your ticket resulted from an accident.
  • Your ticket is marked "must appear".
  • You received a major traffic ticket, such as a D.U.I or Reckless Driving citation. 
  • Your ticket is for exceeding the speedlimit by more than 15 miles per hour. 
  • Your ticket is for illeagally passing a school bus. 
  • You have taken any traffic school course as part of an agreement or agreed with any court to reduce or dismiss a traffic citation within the last 18 months. 
  • You have received 3+ moving violations in the past 3 years (including this ticket and any that have been dismissed or modified by a court). 

If none of the above is applicable to you, we encourage you to continue the application process.

  • To apply for Traffic school: go to

    https://www.drivingbasics.com/ 

    • Click the Sign Up button. 
    • Select the "Ticket Dismissal" course.
    • Select Utah as the ticketing state, Juab as the county, and Levan Justice Court. 
    • Continue through the application process.
    • Honestly and accurately fill out the application. 
    • The course duration is approximately 3 hours.

YOU MUST APPLY FOR TRAFFIC SCHOOL WITHIN 10 DAYS OF THE DATE OF YOUR TICKET.

YOU MUST COMPLETE THE COURSE WITHIN 45 DAYS OF THE DATE OF YOUR TICKET.

For additional traffic school related questions, call the traffic school helpline at 1-888-312-6552.